Callahan’s Crosstime Saloon, by Spider Robinson

the Little Red Reviewer

CallahansCallahan’s Crosstime Saloon, by Spider Robinson

published in 1977

where I got it: purchased used

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I suppose Spider Robinson wasn’t the first guy who started writing because he passionately hated his day job. Not the first, and certainly not the last. But when was the last time I ran into scifi that was so casually inviting?  Reading this short story collection felt more like chatting with a friend over a beer than reading a book.  I finished it in two sittings, which means Jake Stonebender and I will need to have another chat (beer for me, he’ll have a whiskey) soon. Had I know how good it was going to be, I’d have savored it, only allowing myself one story an evening, instead of seemingly rushing through it.

How to describe Callahan’s Saloon? Drinks are cheap, toasts are required,  references…

View original post 787 more words

Leave a Reply

